«Stylistic switches performed with consummate skill.»

– Prog magazine

«Transcends and even defies categori­zation, and a rigid summary is essentially a redundant and rather futile exercise.»

– Eternal Terror

«An album in which to let go, in which to abandon oneself, in which to be emotionally absorbed.»

– Metal.it

«Yobrepus is quickly becoming a must hear band who are expanding their horizons into very compelling and artistic avenues»

– Take Effect

«An extremely interesting new phenomenon on the art/alt-rock map.»


«I for one will be keeping a close eye on this band for hopefully years to come.»

– Sea of Tranquility

A Rhizome Revolution – part 1 was released on Apollon Records 22 Mar 2024. The album is available to order from our artist run shop on Bandcamp and the record label.


➞ 16 oct 2023 – release concert, MIR, Oslo

We'll announce more dates soon!

Show past dates

Sign up to our mailing list!

*GDPR: by submitting my email address I consent to Yobrepus storing this data for the above stated purpose.

The Band

Yobrepus is an art-rock band from Oslo, Norway, formed in 2017 after singer and songwriter Mats Jørgen Sivertsen's solo project Blakc Mould got signed to a small indie label. The album was later described by Prog magazine as a mix of "Radiohead-inspired sadcore," "trip-hop," and "quirky indie-folk". The follow-up album, Mycelium Days received praise for venturing into a more progressive sound, incorporating cinematic landscapes, melancholy moods, and heavy riffs.

The members are Mats Jørgen Sivertsen (vocals, guitars, keys), Vegard Weyergang Vartdal (vocals, synth, bass), Øyvind Rognerud (keys, guitars) and Paal Urdal (drums).


Voila our sophomore album, Mycelium Days – acclaimed for its cinematic voyage through styles and moods. The album starts with a 22-minute long medley that pays homage to legendary songs like Echoes and Lark's Tongues in Aspic, though, it would be wrong to describe the music as retro. On the contrary, this is text-book post-progressive.

Mycelium Days was released on Apollon Records 25 Sep 2020. The album is available on vinyl and digital platforms.

Blakc Mould was released on Furuberget 5 May 2017. The album is available on vinyl and digital platforms. 9 songs and 45 minutes of inventive indie art-rock. Produced by Leon Muraglia and mastered on all analogue equipment by Alf Håkan Åkesson in Sweden. You will receive a nice 180g vinyl edition as well as lossless digital files for the same price as the vinly will be in the shops.

Buy our supercool Yobrepus t-shirt, available from Threadless.

© 2024 Yobrepus